Board of Zoning Appeals

The Board of Zoning Appeals is created pursuant to the Zoning Ordinance of the City of Essexville and its duties and responsibilities are provided for under Michigan Act 110, Public Acts of 2006.

As set forth in the Zoning Ordinance, the Board of Zoning Appeals shall, in part, have the power to interpret, upon request, any provision of the Zoning Ordinance in such a way as to carry out the intent and purpose of the Ordinance and to authorize, upon appeal, specific variances from such requirements as lot area and dimension, building height and bulk, yard and depth regulations and parking and load requirements.

The seven members to the Board of Zoning Appeals are appointed to staggered three year terms by the City Council.

Board of Zoning Appeals Members

Board Members Term of Appointment Expires
Alan Bilhimer, Chairperson December 31, 2022
Pat Smith December 31, 2024
Michael Bergen December 31, 2022
Brandon Kulhanek December 31, 2023
Jerome Reinke December 31, 2024